Heartslinked

March 6, 2013

Who wants to grow up and be a birthmom?

Filed under: Uncategorized — by jeannette4175 @ 7:33 pm

I have heard many times young adults/teenagers say when I grow up I want to adopt.  Have you ever heard someone say when I grow up or get older I want to place my child for adoption?  I can’t wait to become a birthmom?  Really think about this question.  Take a cup of coffee and think of this.  Mull it over in your mind.  I don’t care where you stand in adoption if you adopted, placed, if you are an adoptee, or know someone that is adopted.  Please think about this question carefully.

Let’s be honest for one minute with ourselves, our hearts, our souls.  Placing a child for adoption is a failure.  We have failed ourselves.  We have failed our child.  We have failed society.  But on a different prospective we have been failed.  Our parents, siblings, family loved ones have failed us.  Our teachers friends, and society have failed us too.  Anytime that a child has to be separated from their family their is a crack in society, in the family, in our souls.

Have you truly met anyone in real life who placed a child for adoption that had a full loving childhood?  Have you met someone who placed a child that had support of all of their loved ones?  Have you met someone who placed a child for adoption that really had support to parent.  Full support from their village?

I know I have never met a mother in my life in real life or on line that had full loving support to parent that decided to place.  When I say society I include agencies for adoption.  They are part of our society too. 

What are the obstacles to parent and what can each of us individually do to help others parent their children?  How can we keep families together?  What can we do to make this place we live better for ALL children, ALL mothers, ALL fathers?

I don’t care if we are talking about foster care, newborn adoption, international adoption somewhere along a woman’s life we have failed her if she feels like an option is adoption.  Even foster care where have we failed a mother in her life that she has to have her child taken away? 

I do not have the answers but we have to start with questions and examine ourselves.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

