Heartslinked

March 11, 2012

No rest for the wicked

Filed under: Uncategorized — by jeannette4175 @ 7:21 am

I am a little slow on blogging lately.  I have a lot going on in my life and most of it has nothing to do with adoption.  I know we are all shocked that I have any life outside adoption.  My hours at work have increased dramatically in the last month.  I have gone from working a normal 40 hours per week to working 60 or more hours per week.  This would be great if I was paid hourly but I’m salary.  My usual day starts at 7:30pm in the office and I’m there until about 4pm.  But I start receiving I emails and phone calls as early as 6am from home, which usually have to be answered immediately.  After I leave the  office and get home I continue with calls and emails until almost 8 at night.  If this wasn’t enough I am working at least 4 or 5 hours on the weekend too at the office. 

I volunteer at my youngest daughters school.  I don’t go into the classes much but I do a lot from home.  We are planning a big trip to Disneyland in May with about 200 12 to 14-year-old teenagers.  I know you are all jealous, what is more fun than chaperoning 200 kids in the early teens?  I’m in charge of the paperwork with the preplanning and getting all the money figured out with payments.  Don’t ask me how I get myself into these situations.  I say no to a lot of volunteer stuff but when it comes to helping the kids with performing arts program I have a hard time.  I know so many schools are getting rid of the arts but at my daughters school it is thriving.  I feel it is important to show the principal that we as parents are dedicated to the programs. 

Lately I have been trying to get together with family and friends more.  I have realized that I need a very active social life.  I need to see people who I love and care about.  I need to take the time to laugh and enjoy our time together.  I need the socialization to help me stay positive.  I need this for me.  Last night we got together with about 5 couples for a late dinner.  I haven’t laughed so hard in a very long time.  We were silly and loud and a little crazy.  We all had so much fun.  We decided that we have to get together more.  I haven’t seen some people in this group for 3 months.   Facebook is a great way to keep up with people but it isn’t the same as talking and interacting in person.

1 Comment »

  1. I love you! Keep your chin up ❤

    Comment by Princess J — March 11, 2012 @ 10:46 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

